When I got a Burst of Creativity.

Yesterday was great in a way because, besides spilling my coffee all over, I had a vacant part of my day (that should have been filled with my online class’s work, but was not) that I had a chance to do something creative. What? Creative, you say? Yes, it has been quite some time that I’ve done anything creative and it was so nice to dig into it yesterday. I love to bake and have been working on my decorating skills over the years and I baked cookies, which is creative in itself and I have done that several times over the course of the year but this time for the first time in a while, I decorated them. And man, did it feel good! I spent at least four hours working on these and they were worth every second of it! I was exhausted afterwards but the result put a smile on my face. They are already gone now, except for the two I saved for my boyfriend who is out of town for the long weekend. But they were there and they didn’t look half bad!

cookie

Being creative is like going on an adventure and discovering something new. You get excited because you can get something new and different from a creative experience every time, even if it’s the same creative endeavor. One day you may learn how to do one thing and the next you may learn something else, it’s like viewing things from a different angle or perspective. Personally, as someone who is an education major, I see this as an important aspect in a child’s education and should be ever present in the classroom. Creativity is an important aspect for them to have and explore and to apply in all that they are learning. It’s in the art of applying it to their lives and making connections to what they have learned or experienced. It makes them that much more well-rounded and knowledgeable and also excited about these learning experiences.

Creativity is important and I missed having it as a part of my life. But it will be coming back more and more! I hope you get to enjoy being creative and going on adventures as well!

Leave a comment