The Joy of Reading

This isn’t anything new for me to proclaim, or anything I’ve recently discovered but it still holds the same excitement as a new discovery, a new adventure that I have stumbled on. And that is, I love books. I love the feel of anticipation and eagerness I get when I first open a book and start the first page, as I have no idea where this book may take me and who I’ll meet along the way. I love delving in deeper and deeper and growing attached to the characters as if they are dear friends and possibly family. I love the feel of the pages as I quickly turn them to find out what the next page unveils. I love that it is a key to another world, another perspective and another adventure each time I pick it up. I love how quickly my reading pace speeds up as I near the end of the book and I am so excited to see how it ends, I can hardly stand it. I love how even when the book is finished, I still think of it days afterwards, sometimes months afterwards and it’s like a secret between the author and I (and anyone else who has read it) because only they will understand the lives of the characters and the references from their life stories. What I do not love about reading is that I miss the characters and their story when I have finished reading the book and it’s like a friend of mine left town and won’t be back for a while.

Reading is such a magical experience that brings you into a new adventure, a new experience and gives you a countless amount of joy.

Leave a Reply

